## CHICKASAW COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS' MINUTES January 4, 2023

The Board convened on Tuesday, January 4, 2023, at 6:00 PM with members Breitbach, Suckow, Kuhn, Cerwinske and Hackman present in the Boardroom on the second floor of the Court House, New Hampton, Iowa. Chairperson Kuhn called the meeting to order. Also present were Auditor Sheila Shekleton, Attorney David Laudner, Kennan Seda, Sheriff Martin Hemann, sheriff applicant Ryan Shawver, and sheriff applicant Dan Sargent

Motion by Hackman, Seconded by Breitbach to approve the agenda for January 4, 2023. Roll Call: Ayes-Breitbach, Suckow, Kuhn, Cerwinske and Hackman. Motion carried.

Motion by Suckow, Seconded by Breitach to enter closed session pursuant to Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(i) "[t]o evaluate the professional competency of an individual whose appointment, hiring, performance, or discharge is being considered when necessary to prevent needless and irreparable injury to that individual's reputation and that individual requests a closed session." At 6:05 PM Roll Call: Ayes-Breitbach, Suckow, Kuhn, Cerwinske and Hackman. Motion carried.

Motion by Hackman, Seconded by Breitbach to exit closed session pursuant to Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(i) "[t]o evaluate the professional competency of an individual whose appointment, hiring, performance, or discharge is being considered when necessary to prevent needless and irreparable injury to that individual's reputation and that individual requests a closed session." At 6:37 PM Roll Call: Ayes-Breitbach, Suckow, Kuhn, Cerwinske and Hackman. Motion carried.

6:40 PM Recessed 7:00 PM Reconvened

Motion by Hackman, Seconded by Breitbach to enter closed session pursuant to Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(i) "[t]o evaluate the professional competency of an individual whose appointment, hiring, performance, or discharge is being considered when necessary to prevent needless and irreparable injury to that individual's reputation and that individual requests a closed session." At 7:01 PM Roll Call: Ayes-Breitbach, Suckow, Kuhn, Cerwinske and Hackman. Motion carried.

Motion by Hackman, Seconded by Cerwinske to exit closed session pursuant to Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(i) "[t]o evaluate the professional competency of an individual whose appointment, hiring, performance, or discharge is being considered when necessary to prevent needless and irreparable injury to that individual's reputation and that individual requests a closed session." At 7:52 PM Roll Call: Ayes-Breitbach, Suckow, Kuhn, Cerwinske and Hackman. Motion carried.

Motion by Cerwinske, Seconded by Breitbach to set a time, to appoint Ryan Shawver as Chickasaw County Sheriff which will be at 9:30 AM, January 23, 2023, during the regular meeting, which takes place on the second floor of the Chickasaw County Courthouse in New Hampton. Roll Call: Ayes-Breitbach, Suckow, Kuhn, Cerwinske and Hackman. Motion carried.

Motion by Breitbach, Seconded by Cerwinske to adjourn at 7:55 PM. Roll Call: Ayes-Breitbach, Suckow, Kuhn, Cerwinske and Hackman. Motion carried.

Matthew Kuhn, Chairperson	
Board of Supervisors	
ATTEST:	
Sheila Shekleton, Secretary to the Board	