Freezing Fog · 10°
2022 General ElectionView Unofficial Results


Get to know Chickasaw County's sheriff, and view a list of previous county sheriffs.
Chickasaw County Sheriff Martin Hemann

Sheriff Martin Hemann

Martin (Marty) grew up on a farm in Mitchell County near Osage. After graduation, he attended Hawkeye Community College where he earned an Associate of Applied Arts degree in Police Science. Shortly before his graduation, Marty started working as a police officer for the City of Hawkeye. While at Hawkeye, he attended and graduated from the Iowa Law Enforcement (I.L.E.A.) Academy. He later accepted a police officer position with the City of Fayette.

In 1990, Marty was hired as a deputy sheriff for the Chickasaw County (IA) Sheriff’s Office. In addition to his regular patrol duties, Marty also taught DARE, was a driving instructor, sTEP coordinator and was the department union steward. In 2012, he was promoted to Chief Deputy. In 2013, he was appointed to the Jail Administrator position in addition to being the Chief Deputy. In 2016, Marty was elected to the Office of Sheriff and in 2020 Marty was re-elected to a second 4-year term.

Previous Chickasaw County Sheriffs

1853-1855 Andy Sample

1855-1858 Frederick Padden

1858-1860 C.E. Zivick

1860-1862 Patrick Galligan

1862-1868 John Dixon

1868-1870 James A. Albertson

1870-1873 Earl W. Beach

1873-1883 R.O. Sheldon

1883-1886 Horton Mandeville

1886-1890 James Stanton

1890-1893 F.W. Brown

1893-1899 Edward Murphy

1899-1902 F.E. Sherwood

1902-1907 C.W. Schnurr

1907-1911 J.J. Wandrow

1911-1915 A.M. Russell

1915-1919 F.M. Kezar

1919-1925 John Tietjen

1925-1926 E.J. Attleson

1926-1931 C.A. Upham

1931-1949 George C. Murray

1949-1953 Kenneth J. Daly

1953-1981 Galen Folkers

1981-1997 Thomas Bernatz

1997-2001 William E. Dean

2001-2012 Marty Larsen

2013-2017 T.W. Miller

Back · Chickasaw County Sheriff