Sunny · 34°

Emergency Management Commission

Local emergency management is addressed in Iowa Code Chapter 29C and in Iowa Administrative Code 605 Chapter 7. Local emergency management governance, authority, fiscal responsibility, organization, and programs are set forth in these policy documents. Compliance with the scope of these mandates, coupled with significant additional federal mandates, creates high expectations for level of effort and compliance on the part of the local emergency management agencies. Membership on the Emergency Management Commission is also designated in the Code: the county sheriff, a representative of the Board of Supervisors, and the mayor (or designee) from each municipality in the county. The Commission is required by law to hire an Emergency Management Coordinator (EMC) who is charged with carrying out the program of the Emergency Management Agency (EMA).   

Active Committees

Chickasaw County Emergency Management is involved in several diverse, multi-jurisdictional committees that are committed to continuous improvement of emergency management and homeland security throughout Chickasaw County and Iowa.

Several of the committees included are:

  • Chickasaw County Public Health Coalition
  • Chickasaw County Security Panel
  • Iowa Region 2 Homeland Security 
  • Iowa Service Area Region 2 Health Committee
  • Northeast Iowa Regional Local Emergency Planning Committee
  • RIC Region 2: Iowa Statewide Interoperable Communications Systems Board
  • Iowa Emergency Management Association
  • National Emergency Numbers Association (NENA)
  • Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials
  • Iowa Emergency Medical Services Association

Emergency Management Commission

Matthew Kuhn, Chair
Board of Supervisor
James Mitchell, Vice Chair
Jim Ashley
David Geerts
North Washington
Steve Geerts
New Hampton
Samatha Johnson
Amy Laures
Alta Vista
Mark Mueterthies
Ryan Shawver
Randy Taylor

2024 Emergency Management Commission Meetings

March 26, 2024 · 6:00pm
March 19, 2024 · 6:00pm
February 21, 2024 · 5:30pm
January 31, 2024 · 6:00pm
January 10, 2024 · 6:15pm

2023 Emergency Management Commission Meetings

2022 Emergency Management Commission Meetings

Back · Chickasaw County Emergency Management / NG911